National Breastfeeding Celebration Week

This week (18th – 27th June 2016) is National Breastfeeding Celebration Week. In light of this, I wanted to post to say a massive well done to all the breast feeding mummies out there. It is not easy to breastfeed your child. It is not easy to persevere when you are exhausted and your baby cluster feeds for hours at a time. It is not easy to keep going when your baby wakes four times in the night and you have to be the one to get up. It is not easy to keep going when you have mastitis or your baby grows teeth or you feel really unwell.

It is easy, however, to say ‘well done’ and to give encouragement to all those ladies you know who are breastfeeding their children. It is easy to offer them a drink or a snack and to make them comfortable when they are feeding in your company. It is easy to accept their choice and not to judge.

I feel incredibly blessed that my breastfeeding journey has not been too challenging. Friends of mine have struggled with lactation issues, supply, latching, mastitis, blocked ducts etc. I feel happy that the challenges I have faced have been more emotional than physical – although this also required the energy to choose to persevere. However, only having emotional challenges has meant that I have not been confronted with medical professionals advising me to give up.

I respect every parent’s right to make her own decision and choice  about how to feed her child. I will never judge someone for choosing formula-feeding over breast-feeding. This post is simply a celebration for those who have chosen the more challenging route; this is about saying well done and keep going!

When I was pregnant, I did the research and knew that breast milk would be the healthiest option for my baby. I was aiming to try it but thought I would probably stop after 6 months (before returning to work). Now – seven months in – I am continuing to breast-feed despite returning to work in a few weeks. I LOVE feeding him. I LOVE the bond it has created and the cuddles and closeness. I LOVE that he has grown so well because of my milk. I LOVE that he enjoys it. I LOVE that my husband and family have been so supportive of it. I LOVE that we have found a way to try to make it work for me to feed him despite returning to full-time work.

 

I will finish with some things I wish I had known before I started feeding…

  1. At the beginning your nipples will be really sore. Pack lanolin cream in your hospital bag. This will only last a week or two.
  2. The hospital midwives are happy to help you. Don’t feel embarrassed about having your boob totally out – they see hundreds of them! They are there to help and won’t actually let you leave until you feel confident getting a good latch.
  3. After about 3-4 days your milk will come in. This feels really odd and can hurt.
  4. When your boobs are really full they become really solid and lumpy and heavy. This is normal. If you need to relieve this, expressing is great. Alternatively, leaning over hot water (steam) and gently hand expressing or massaging will bring relief.
  5. When your baby feeds on one side, you will leak milk from the other.
  6. If you hear a crying baby – whether he is yours or not – you will leak milk.
  7. Buy breast pads!
  8. Cluster feeding is a real thing. Your baby will feed for hours together. This is NORMAL. This is not because your milk is not good enough. They do not need a bottle of formula. They are building up your supply to meet your needs. Yes, it is exhausting but it only lasts a little while. Relax and enjoy the cuddles if you can.
  9. Breast-fed babies do sleep for shorter periods than formula-fed babies AT THE BEGINNING. It does get better.
  10. Breastfeeding in public is not as scary as it seems at first. You can barely see anything, most people are supportive and it’s a great excuse for a cake stop!
  11. There are great support groups online. Find them. Join them. (CIBII – UK is a very helpful one for finding bf friendly outfits).
  12. Breastfeeding burns about 500 calories per day. That’s extra yummy chocolate, cake and treats! P.S. Your body will put all the nutrients into your milk that baby needs regardless of the junk your eat, so don’t worry!

Happy breastfeeding week!

19th.jpg

Leave a comment